Relax – in The Keeper’s Lodge
The Keeper’s Lodge in the ground floor of the Monument has been refurbished – creating a comfortable corner where visitors can relax. Originally part of the accommodation provided for the caretaker (who was appointed as the ‘keeper’ when the Monument opened in 1869), it is an ideal resting spot for any visitors who are unable to climb the stairs within the Monument, and refreshments and snacks are available.
Children will find the Kids Activity Book and Monument related worksheets inside The Keeper’s Lodge.
There is also a souvenir and gift shop on the ground floor, and in the entrance hall are two important busts – of Charles Rogers and William Burns, the men responsible for building the Monument.
1st Secretary of the National Wallace Monument
The Reverent Charles Rogers first proposed a national monument to Wallace in 1851. At the time, he was serving as the Chaplain to the garrison at Stirling Castle. Four years later, he set up a committee. Rogers himself wrote over 20,000 letters to raise money from the public. A few years later he was forced to resign – accused by some of bad management. But he continued to believe in the project and went on raising money on his own to support it.
2nd Secretary of the National Wallace Monument
William Burns managed the building project after Charles Rogers resigned. Under Burns, the monument was finally completed. Burns – a lawyer from Glasgow – was a vocal Scottish nationalist. He is most remembered for his two-volume history The Scottish Wars of Independence, published in 1874.